“Hey Alexa, play Red (Taylor’s Version)”

Patiently awaiting the release of Red (Taylor’s Version), Taylor Swift excited Swifties, posting an Instagram reel captioned, “It’s Red Season.” This promo reel posted at the end of October featured red everything, ranging from ruby earrings, a red ball gown, a custom Red ring, and a red manicure. The end of the clip showed a red box wrapped with a red bow that fans will “unwrap” when the November 12th album arrives.

   Fans have been awaiting the release of the re-recorded album since her announcement back in June, just two months after the release of Fearless (Taylor’s Version). Taylor Swift committed to re-recording each of her first six albums under her contract with Big Machine Labels from 2005-2018. These albums include Taylor Swift (2006), Fearless (2008), Speak Now (2010), Red (2012), 1989 (2014), and Reputation (2017). 

  Since her contract with Big Machine Records expired, Taylor Swift has commented on her true feelings regarding not owning the rights to the masters (original recordings) of her first six albums. She feels cheated by the record company following Big Machine’s $300 million dollar deal of her masters. When fans listen to Taylor’s Version tracks, the money will go to Taylor Swift rather than the label record company.

   If fans are wondering what the difference in these re-recorded albums will be, Swift has a simple answer: intention. Taylor Swift emphasizes that her songs are her story, and she wants control over this art. The songs are staying mostly the same with a few “subtle production updates.” Red (Taylor’s Version) will include 30 tracks from Red along with 9 bonus tracks featuring collaborations with Phoebe Bridgers, Ed Sheeran, and Chris Stapleton. Swift calls these bonus tracks her “vault” songs, as they weren’t released in her original albums. 

  “Red Season” has officially begun and all that is left to do is wait.